top of page
  • Foto del escritorJöbstl Marlène

Role of context , role of body

Actualizado: 26 jul 2023

MINIMUM International Online Festival organised by Rocío Fraile , Ibiza, Dec 1th ~ 7th 2022 asked this two questions to the artists.


How does your context influence your art?


My art is my context. It is like asking, how does your palm influence your hand. We cannot separate the context of the subject. It is like the question of space. I exist because of space! Without space, no life ! My outside is linked with my inside, interdependent. Everything alters my existence, so do I alter all around me. « All In One In All … ». There is no boundaries between us and the world, it is only illusion, concept. Everything is linked. On stage, we could say that the context is the atmosphere, the specific situation, the one and only present, the now.


What is the role of your body on your performance?


On stage, my body represents life. It is tension in the space. It is resistance against death, against gravity. My body is the miracle of existence. My body is my best friend, my body is the space of transition between outside and inside, always changing, so do I, so does the space. My body is not a shell, nor a tool ! My body is my home in this present, offering a shelter to my soul, offering an opportunity to grow, to shine, to offer beauty to the universe. My body is all ! My body knows. I don't. I follow its wiseness, I honour its memory, its emotions, its needs. When I start the performance, I hold hand with my body, we go on the trip together, hand in hand, we jump into this new adventure. In my understanding, there is no separation: body and mind and soul … For me body is all. Thoughts are my body, emotions, memories, muscles, unconscious, soul, unexplainable is my body. Dance is a dialogue. I totally trust in my body.


M.J.


PHOTO © Tentesion


Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page